change

Standard

“If everything you think you know
Makes your life unbearable
Would you change?
Would you change?
If you’d broken every rule and vow
And hard times come to bring you down
Would you change?
Would you change?”

Change, Tracy Chapman

some days more than others, you need to ask yourself hard questions. you need to realise that you might not like the answers but still have the grace to sit through the conversation with yourself. it’s how we progress. sometimes we are at war only with ourselves. we want things that don’t us. we are with people we don’t want to be with. we are doing things we don’t want to do. we are amplifying things we are not sure we believe in.

and sometimes, it’s simply because we don’t like the uncertainty of change. we are not brave enough to do the things we know deep down are what’s right for us. we don’t want to be any different from the person we were yesterday. it’s too uncomfortable. it upsets. but baby, it’s got to be done. it’s got to be done.

“Are you so upright you can’t be bent?
If it comes to blows,
are you so sure you won’t be crawling?
If not for the good, why risk falling?
Why risk falling?”

-Change, Tracy Chapman

do you like the person you have become? it’s okay, you are getting there. you are getting there. but what’s got to be done has to be done. if it will make you sleep at night with no regrets, it might be be brutal but, it has to be done.

do you like the person you have become?

 

4 thoughts on “change

  1. This touched me. Lately I’ve been battling with a lot of decisions. To be honest, I’m not where I envisioned myself 2yrs ago. Its not a bad place, but its not a great place yet.
    I know I’ll get there, but the thoughts of what I need to change now to be where I’ll be proud of, hunts and hurts my mind.
    I just keep thinking, “what to do?” And I keep praying “God show me how I need to improve and order my steps”. See, people stumble on great things, people happen on goodwill. Some attain a height they don’t even want. Doors open for others when they’re not even searching. I think about these, and I always try to stop myself on time from feeling cheated by God because I’m having to work so much in thoughts to build opportunities my way and to apply the right changed to become closer to being fulfilled.
    All in all, i recognise God’s time is the best, and I just await His will for my life to come to pass. But I’m still scared. I really dont want to be a late bloomer. But then again, who does.

    Liked by 2 people

What do you think of this?

