Of Reading Slumps (and other things)

Standard

How is June treating you good people?

I have been suffering. Suffering, I tell you! But before I begin to rant, I should say that I recently turned 16 (don’t ask how I do it. It’s beyond me to explain how I will also still be 16 next year. Thank you for understanding.)

That is important to note because, in my diagnosis(the only time I fancied being a doctor was when I was err…never), the excitement that led to my awesome birthday was the cause of my suffering. I was going through a reader’s worst nightmare. No, not Fifty Shades of Grey or Danielle Steel. Worse. Far much worse, I tell you.

A reading slump 😑

A reading slump is sort of like writer’s  block. In this case, for my case actually, I could not find it in me to start a book and the idea of reading was simply not a welcome one. (Oh, the problems we face! ) It’s like the time in a relationship when you would say, we need a break. Almost like the other person is suffocating you without doing anything out of the usual. But focus, it’s not a person. It’s the books. And no, I didn’t do the whole dramatic “it’s not you, it’s me”. I just spent my time (and data😞) watching Matt Steffanina and the Les Twins dancing instead.

Anyway, turns out it’s not that big of a deal being 16 (yes, I am maintaining it) so all the excitement that came with the awesome birthday ended as soon as I had to clean up alone. And just like that *drum roll* I’m in Botswana(no, I’m not YET  visiting Kea but I’ve heard books can take you places so I might as well just be in Palapye).

Have a lovely June folk. The tide is changing and the only way to go is forward, and upward(For example, I’ll be posting micro poetry on my instagram every Saturday.)

21 thoughts on “Of Reading Slumps (and other things)

  1. Oh how I love your rant..
    Happy 16..
    For me I am forever21(yes it’s the clothes that inspired it)
    Again you offer no compensation for keeping me out of the festivities
    Now let me go back and read this
    Seems like that’s all the party am getting.
    Did I say I love it?

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I haven’t been able to read any book in a month. It’s not like I don’t try. I open an e-book.. some sentences later and my mind is drifting places. I had no idea there’s a name to it sef. Sigh

    InOtherNews Happy belated birthday fellow Junie!πŸ’ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi SR,

    Ah, I love your wit. I trust you had a happy sweet sixteen birthday, I might as well wish you many Happy Sweet Sixteens in advance since you’ll be that age next year and all the years afterwards. Sheer genius! πŸ˜€

    Since you mentioned unreadables- Fifty Shades gave me an ear ache, my eyes started hurt right after my brain started twitching, I couldn’t go beyond the first chapter.

    I’ve recently started this bad habit of reading books and stopping halfway and then moving onto another one that I consider more interesting, leaving that half way too and then returning to the impervious abandoned book to complete. Restless Reader Slump? Alas, I write the same way too, a broken beautiful process.

    I’m glad I found your blog.

    Like

  4. Hi SR,

    Ah, I love your wit. I trust you had a happy sweet sixteen birthday, I might as well wish you many Happy Sweet Sixteens in advance since you’ll be that age next year and all the years afterwards. Sheer genius! πŸ˜€

    Since you mentioned unreadables- Fifty Shades gave me an ear ache, my eyes started hurting right after my brain started twitching, I couldn’t go beyond the first chapter.

    I’ve recently started this bad habit of reading books and stopping halfway and then moving onto another one that I consider more interesting, leaving that half way too and then returning to the previously abandoned book to complete. Restless Reader Slump? Alas, I write the same way too, a broken beautiful process.

    I’m glad I found your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think of this?

