Seek and Speak your Truth

Standard

I was a little bit defiant with the theme of this #UgBlogWeek yesterday (which is freedom of expression so technically, like Just David pointed out, I haven’t.) but for today, just today, let me give the impression of a compliant citizen 🙂

The title of this blog post is stolen from a chapter of the book, Lean In: Women, Work and the Will to Lead by Sheryl Sandberg, for which I am still trying to write a ‘worthy’ review. Let’s just say I am doing a chapter review, because while I reread that particular chapter this morning, I figured it was quite ‘thematic’. (Okay, I admit. I just wanted to use the word.)

Have you met people who call themselves blunt? Or honest and truthful and blah blah… While I think those are very virtuous qualities, I have come to realize that the truth is not absolute. The people that call themselves blunt are too used to speaking their truth for the most part and therefore start to take their truth as everyone’s truth.

Okay, too much gibberish. Let’s make it simple: Anna speaks her mind, and you always wonder whether she ever censors what she says. The other day she asked what you were thinking when you plaited red hair. She said she doesn’t like it. It’s awful and you look like a thing from 1970 horror films. You felt bad, but there’s nothing you can do. You’ll live with your hair for the month avoiding any camera flashes. You curse your hair dresser, she said you looked good.

Again, too much gibberish but here’s the thing; you probably don’t look as awful, that’s Anna’s opinion. And that’s the thing: opinions being confused with truth. Okay, first write this down:

Someone’s opinion ≠ truth.

I know, I also expected something more intelligent but what the heck, that will do. Anyway, the whole point is there’s always more than one truth but you have to look for your own truth and not shove it down someone else’s ass throat in the name of being blunt.

Now, let’s talk about the rest of us who aren’t so honest/blunt/truthful/whatever you like to call yourself that’s not synonymous with honest.

I’ll say it bluntly(¯\_(ツ)_/¯) we complicate life.

(I’d like to continue but I just got a brilliant idea…why not continue this tomorrow😈)

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Seek and Speak your Truth

What do you think of this?

