RAIN ON MY WINDOW PANE

Standard

The rain falls on my window pane. Constant drips expressing a calm known only to them for the rest of the showers fall in angry noisy dribbles. Thoughts of you cross my mind like the dazzling flash of cowardly lightning. Fast, fleeting but being sure to leave me in a daze. Does this cold make you want to hold me as I do you?

To bury astraphobia in the endless warmth of your embrace and tell stories of Greek goddesses till we pass out, to dream dreams of distant lands and talk about characters known only to pages…

Tea on a rainy cold night. It’s been two months since I wrote those words that meant so much but now mean so little. I could use them in a poem, or a story, pretend they were never in my reality and praise my imagination. You’ll ask me why I never finished and I’ll have no answer. But tonight as it rains, I think of you again and decide to visit my drafts folder for this unfinished business.

The rain falls on my window pane. Pounding, irritating noises that wake me from my sleep. Thoughts of you cross my mind like ice pricks of a migraine sufferer. Fast, fleeting but being sure to leave me holding my head and grinding my teeth. Does this cold make you want to undo our history as it does me?

To bury broken promises in a bottomless pit that takes memories with it too and…

A glass of Harvey’s on a cold rainy night. It’s been a year since I tried to complete this and try to put in perspective the untimely end of our bittersweet camaraderie. I could pull them apart, write completely different phenomenon about each one and get away with the beauty of each. You’ll ask me why I try to complete it and maybe I’ll have an answer. Because tonight as it rains, I think of you again and keep coming back to this draft. It begs to be finished.

The rain falls on my window pane. Soft music in the background that compliments my playlist. Thoughts of you cross my mind like a favorite scene from a movie. Lingering, recurring but being sure to leave me wanting. Does this cold make you want one last hug as it does me?

A cup of coffee on cold wet morning. I choose to put a full stop and start over but I’ll never know what to do with the thoughts that cross my mind, on cold nights when the rain falls on my window pane.

rainy

 

7 thoughts on “RAIN ON MY WINDOW PANE

What do you think of this?

